Faith, hope and love–real reflections on bible readings from an average college student.

God’s Faithfulness

The genealogy covered in Genesis chapters 10-12 is probably my least favorite part in the bible. The names are so hard to pronounce and why is it important for me to know whose son belongs to who and how old they all were? In all my attempts to read the bible from front to back, this is where I get stuck and lose interest. Needless to say, I was more than a little anxious as I began today’s reading. With each page I turned, I prayed for a verse or message to stand out to me and encourage me to continue reading. Then in finally hit me (Yes, I’m a bit slow). This painfully long genealogy is included in the bible to show God’s faithfulness. God’s faithfulness is a consistent theme in the bible, and in this particular chapter, we see how God has faithfully rewarded Noah with numerous descendants-a reward which Noah has earned because of his own faithfulness to God. Just as God also keeps His promise to Abram in Genesis 12:2-3,

“I will make you into a great nation
and I will bless you;
I will make your name great,
and you will be a blessing.
I will bless those who bless you,
and whoever curses you I will curse;
and all peoples on earth
will be blessed through you”

we can rest assured that God will keep all of the promises he has made to us. Promises to always love us, to never forsake us, and to always forgive us. Do we even need anything else?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

